Largo was recorded in 2001 and is the first record of Mehldau’s that departs from either the piano trio or solo format. It can be seen as the culmination of musical experiences that he gathered while living in Los Angeles, most notably the music he heard at Largo, a club in Hollywood he went to regularly and pays tribute to in the title of the record.

Mehldau says, “I heard a lot of terrific singer-songwriters there for the first time – people like Rufus Wainright, Fiona Apple, Elliot Smith and Aimee Mann. I got re-introduced to how beautiful a good pop song can be through hearing them. Its depth is more about pairing something down, chiseling it into a strong, succinct statement – very different than jazz, which for me is often about going out on a limb and staying there.” Jon Brion, who has worked with those musicians variously as a sideman, producer, or songwriting collaborator, made a strong impression on Mehldau in his weekly engagement at Largo. 

The two met there and over the next few years and developed a musical friendship that eventually resulted in ‘Largo,’ with Jon Brion producing. It is a blend of two aesthetics that happily overlap: Mehldau’s jazz improvisation and Brion’s creative, rich production. The album is wide-ranging in texture and big in scale: Woodwind or brass ensembles are on several tracks, and one feature of the record is a heavy emphasis on powerful drums – Matt Chamberlain and veteran rock master Jim Keltner are the core rhythm on most of the album, often simultaneously playing, like on the cover of ‘Paranoid Android,’ whose middle section becomes a monster rock affair.

Still, Jon Brion wisely keeps Mehldau’s piano at the center of things sonically and conceptually throughout the record; it never gets swallowed up in the mix, but hovers above and around the proceedings, occupying its own space. The opener, ‘When it Rains,’ is emblematic of the record. It combines the paired down simplicity of a pop song with the ‘out on a limb’ aesthetic of Mehldau’s improvisation. The effect on the listener is strong and directly emotional, and leaves you wanting more



01. When It Rains
02. You’re Vibing Me
03. Dusty McNugget
04. Dropjes
05. Paranoid Android
06. Franklin Avenue
07. Sabbath
08. Dear Prudence
09. Free Willy
10. Alvarado
11. Wave/Mother Nature’s Son
12. I Do


Nonesuch >
• >
• iTunes >

Listen on Spotify:

"Largo" EPK

Brad talks about his recording Largo and the collaboration with producer Jon Brion.


Brad Mehldau, piano, vibes
Larry Grenadier, Darek "Oles" Oleszkiewicz, Justin Meldal-Johnson, bass
Matt Chamberlain, Jorge Rossy, Jim Keltner, drums
Victor Indrizzo, drums & percussion
Jon Brion, guitar, guitar synth, piano percussion

Produced by Jon Brion
Engineered by Thomas Biller
Assistant recording engineer: Steve Genewick
Mixed by Jon Brion
Assistant mixing engineer: Steve Mixdorf
Recorded at Capitol Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA, Studio B, April 2-8, 2001
All music was recorded live, on the floor. There were no overdubs.
Mixed at NRG Studios, Burbank, CA, Studio B, January 21-26 and February 17-19, 2002
Mastered by Doug Sax and Robert Hadley at The Mastering Lab, Hollywood, CA

All songs composed by Brad Mehldau, except track 4 by Brad Mehldau, Darek Oleszkewicz, Justin Meldal-Johnsen, Jon Brion, Matt Chamberlain, Victor Indrizzo; track 5 by Thomas Yorke, Edward O'Brien, Colin Greenwood, Jonathan Greenwood, Philip Selway; track 8 by John Lennon / Paul McCartney; track 9 by Brad Mehldau, Larry Grenadier, Matt Chamberlain, Jorge Rossy; track 11 by Antonio Carlos Jobim / John Lennon / Paul McCartney.

Art Direction & Design: Lawrence Azerrad
Photography: Tina Tyrell