Mehliana: Taming the Dragon

Nonesuch Records released the debut album from the electric duo of Brad Mehldau and Mark Guiliana, Mehliana: Taming the Dragon. The two have been performing for several years, including a brief US tour this fall, with Mehldau playing Fender Rhodes and synthesizers and Guiliana on drums and effects, as they are on the record. Mehliana comprises 12 original tunes—six written by the duo and six written by Mehldau—and was engineered and mixed by Greg Koller (Jon Brion, Kanye West). The vinyl edition of the album is due March 18. 

Mehliana perform "Sleeping Giant" at Largo, Los Angeles CA, on October 13, 2013

Mehliana perform "Just Call Me Nige" at Largo, Los Angeles CA, on October 13, 2013

Mehliana perform "Hungry Ghost" at Largo, Los Angeles CA, on October 13, 2013

Mehliana: Taming the Dragon

01. Taming the Dragon
02. Luxe
03. You Can't Go Back Now
04. The Dreamer
05. Elegy for Amelia E.
06. Sleeping Giant
07. Hungry Ghost
08. Gainsbourg
09. Just Call Me Nige
10. Sassyassed Sassafrass
11. Swimming
12. London Gloaming

"Mehliana: Taming the Dragon" direct from Nonesuch. Available as CD+MP3 and LP+MP3 (due 3/18).


Mehliana at the 2013 London Jazz Festival

Brad was the guest on BBC Radio 3's "In Tune" featuring "Hungry Ghost" from the new Mehliana album. Also includes music from his albums "Highway Rider" and "Love Sublime" (with Renee Flemming).
Listen here >


Listen to Mehliana live set

Tune in to BBC Radio 3's "Jazz on 3" to hear Brad and Mark Guiliana's recent Mehliana electric duo set at Barbican Centre for the EFG London Jazz Festival.
Listen here >

Mehliana perform at Stone, New York City, on June 6, 2012


Listen on Spotify: